How To Be an Ally

Maggie Writes Stuff

The Women’s March on Washington and all the Sister Marches were awesome; I was thrilled to see so many of my friends and loved ones making sure their voices were heard. However, there’s a lot more work to be done.

First and foremost, we need to be allies to each other. Anyone with any form of privilege needs to be an ally to anyone who is without that privilege.

The dark secret of women’s suffrage is that white women climbed over black women and attempted to disenfranchise black men in order to gain their own voting rights. A fact I didn’t learn until a few days before the marches. I didn’t know it because I’m a white woman who grew up in a white neighborhood and attended a predominantly white school in a predominantly white city in a very white state.

From my position of immense privilege, it’s my responsibility…

View original post 735 more words

Leave a Reply

